GAC 2014

NCUF to Honor Four Leaders With Wegner Awards

Four CU leaders will receive Herb Wegner Memorial Awards in 2014.

February 13, 2014
Four credit union leaders will receive Herb Wegner Memorial Awards during CUNA's Governmental Affairs Conference in Washington, D.C.
The winners, presented by the National Credit Union Foundation, include: 
Gary Oakland, retired president/ CEO, BECU, Lifetime Achievement award. Oakland served on the CUNA board and as board chair for the Washington Credit Union League and many other organizations; 
Jim McCormack, president/CEO, Pennsylvania Credit Union Association (PCUA), Lifetime Achievement award. McCormack began his credit union career in 1971. Before joining PCUA in 1981, he held positions with CUNA Mutual Group; 
Tim Haegelin, retired president/ CEO, Generations Federal Credit Union, Lifetime Achievement award. He joined the credit union in 1980 as associate manager, and became president/CEO in 1984. He previously served as president/CEO of Central Texas Catholic Credit Union; and 
Sarah Canepa Bang, president/ chief operating officer (COO), CO-OP Shared Branching–FSCC LLC and chief strategy officer, COOP Shared Branching, Individual Achievement award. She has worked at CUNA, the Oregon Credit Union League, and the Massachusetts Credit Union League.
She returned to the Oregon League, and served as COO of CU Access, an ATM and shared branching network, and Automated Item Management, a check processing operation. 
Look for profiles of these winners in Credit Union Magazine in the coming months. 
The awards are named for Herb Wegner, the late CUNA CEO. An awards dinner will be held Feb. 24 in Washington, D.C., in conjunction with CUNA’s Governmental Affairs Conference.