McWatters makes appearance at NYCUA convention

June 16, 2015

ALBANY, N.Y. (6/16/15)--Nearly 700 credit union professionals attended the New York Credit Union Association’s (NYCUA) annual meeting and convention, which ran from June 11-14.

During the event, attendees raised funds for the New York Credit Union Foundation, explored the EXPO hall to learn about various industry trends, and heard from a number of speakers, including Jim Nussle, CUNA president/CEO, and J. Mark McWatters, board member of the National Credit Union Administration.

McWatters--who followed renowned fraud expert and former con artist Frank Abagnale--told attendees to become more involved in the regulatory process (The Point June 15). He also promised to push for more transparency at the NCUA.

The NYCUA also elected board members at the convention. Earning new three-year terms were:

  • Mark Pfisterer, president/CEO, AmeriCU CU, Rome;
  • John C. Gibardi, president/CEO, Entertainment Industries FCU, New York; and
  • Robyn Young, CEO, Great Erie FCU, Orchard Park.

In addition to board elections, new officers were named, including:

  • Chair: Pfisterer;
  • Vice chair: Marie Betti, CEO/treasurer, Western New York FCU, West Seneca;
  • Treasurer: Ann Hynes, president/CEO, St. Pius X Church FCU, Rochester; and
  • Secretary: Randy Martin, CEO/manager, Dannemora FCU, Plattsburgh.

Additional convention highlights:

  • Bruce Beaudette, retired president/CEO, Sunmark FCU, Latham, and Nancy Kasprzak-Whitmore, former president/CEO, Niagara County’s FCU, Niagara Falls, were inducted into the New York Credit Union Hall of Fame;
  • Mary Bishop, board member, Ulster FCU, Kingston, and Leo Callari, board chair, GPO FCU, New Hartford, were presented Outstanding Volunteer Awards;
  • Cara Babicz, member development coordinator, Great Erie FCU, was given the Outstanding Young Professional Award; and
  • Twanda Christensen, marketing manager, The Summit FCU, Rochester, and Betsy Kindlon, retired president/CEO, Community Resource FCU, Latham, were granted Outstanding Professional Awards.