Best of Ind.’s movement honored by league

October 26, 2015

INDIANAPOLIS (10/26/15)--The best, brightest and most influential members of the Indiana credit union movement were recognized during the Indiana Credit Union League’s (ICUL) recent annual convention.

Two credit union leaders were inducted into the Indiana Credit Union Hall of Fame. Jeffrey McComas,president/CEO, Solidarity Community FCU, Kokomo, has been a league board member and served on a number of league committees. Since becoming president/CEO in 1991, McComas has led the growth of Solidarity Community to more than 25,000 members and spearheaded involvement with community groups for financial literacy.

George McNichols, president/CEO, Hoosier Hills CU, Bedford, also was inducted into the Hall of Fame. He served on the league board from 1999 to 2001 and from 2004 to 2014, which included a stint as chair from 2008 to 2009. McNichols also was influential in organizing credit unions in Texas before moving to Indiana. His advocacy efforts include serving on ICUL's and CUNA’s governmental affairs committees.

The Indiana league presented the Professional Achievement Award to David Abernathy, president/CEO, Via CU, Marion, for his professional accomplishments, commitment to the credit union movement and contributions made to his credit union and community.

Three credit union professionals received Emerging Leadership Awards:

  • Claire Kellems, assistant vice president of process and data analytics, INOVA FCU, Elkhart;
  • Meaghan Elpers, vice president of operations, Evansville Teachers FCU; and
  • Amanda Middleton, managing director of member experience, Financial Center First CU, Indianapolis.

The Emerging Leadership Award was developed in order to recognize the next generation of credit union leaders in Indiana for their accomplishments and for their potential to be a future Indiana credit union leader.

Milton Flowers, board member at Financial Health FCU, received the league’s Leadership Achievement Award. He has worked to develop and implement services such as a credit-builder loan program and becoming a Volunteer Income Tax Assistance site.

The Leadership Achievement Award recognizes credit union volunteers or officials who have given selflessly to promote the credit union ideal and to better the credit union movement in Indiana.