CUNA, federation seek entries for community-focus awards

May 16, 2016

CUNA and the National Federation of Community Development Credit Unions are now accepting entries fortheir individual community-focused award programs.

Information on the 2016 CUNA Community Credit Union of the Year Award and the Annie Vamper Helping Hands Award along with entry and nomination forms are available at and

“These awards both exemplify the spirit of the credit union movement,” said James Carrick, CUNA vice president of learning events. “Both celebrate the credit union individuals and teams who have spent their time and ingenuity to put their communities and members first.”

The Community Credit Union of the Year Award gives annual recognition and distinction to credit unions that best demonstrate the fundamentals of the credit union movement while also demonstrating a positive influence in the field of service. New this year, video entries showcasing a credit union’s local impact will be accepted for this award.

This year’s Community Credit Union of the Year Award winners will be selected from two asset categories based on their influence and success in the following areas:

  • Member impact;
  • Community impact; and
  • Financial impact.

“The Annie Vamper Helping Hands Award recognizes credit union volunteers, board members and staff that embrace the best of the credit union movement--the cooperative spirit and service to the underserved,” said Pamela Owens, vice president of programs at the federation. “Annie Vamper and those who follow in her footsteps have lifted thousands up the ladder of financial independence.”

This year's award winners will be recognized at the CUNA Community Credit Union Conference and The Federation 2016 Annual Conference, Nov. 14-17 in Dallas. In addition, award winners will receive press recognition and complimentary registration for the 2016 CUNA Community Credit Union Conference.