2016 Maxwell, Herring, Desjardins National CUNA Award Winners Announced

December 9, 2016

For Immediate Release


Vicki Christner – CUNA Communications;; 202-329-9950
Alicia Schmitz – CUNA Awards Liaison;; 202-508-6747

MADISON, Wis. (December 9, 2016) – CUNA’s National Awards Committee recently selected the recipients of the 2016 Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award, and the Desjardins Awards for Financial Education.  The awards, which are given in several credit union asset sizes, were selected among the winning entries at a league level.

First-place winners for the Dora Maxwell Award include:

Community Credit Union                                                           Lewiston, ME

United Credit Union                                                                   Mexico, MO

San Mateo Credit Union                                                            Redwood City, CA

Hanscom Federal Credit Union                                                  Hanscom AFB, MA


First-place winners for the Louise Herring Award include:

Nueva Esperanza Community Credit Union                           Toledo, OH

Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union                        Gray, TN

Educational Systems Federal Credit Union                            Greenbelt, MD

Associated Credit Union                                                       Norcross, GA


First-place winners for the Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award include:

Community Credit Union                                                     Lewiston, ME

CORE Federal Credit Union                                                East Syracuse, NY

DOCO Credit Union                                                           Albany, GA

CommonWealth One Federal Credit Union                          Alexandria, VA

Altra Federal Credit Union                                                Onalaska, WI


First-place winners for the Desjardins Adult Financial Education Award include:

Community Credit Union                                                       Lewiston, ME

Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union                                  Spartanburg, SC

Financial Center First Credit Union                                        Indianapolis, IN

Firefly Credit Union                                                              Burnsville, MN

Rocky Mountain Chapter of Credit Unions                            Colorado


*The Maine Credit Union League also received a first place award for their efforts to improve financial literacy for both youth and adults.

“On behalf of the CUNA Awards Committee, I would like to congratulate all of the 2016 CUNA Award winners,” said Winona Nava, CUNA Awards Committee Chair. “We had an impressive number of submissions this year and the quality of the program submissions once again impressed the committee with the ideas and projects credit unions have put in place in their communities. Please join the committee in congratulating this year’s winners and remember: It’s never too early to start thinking about submitting your own entry for 2017.”

Winning credit unions will be recognized at the 2017 CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference, held February 26 – March 2, in Washington, DC.  If you or your credit union is in interested in submitting awards for 2017 – please visit to learn more.

A full list of winners is here.


About CUNA:
With its network of affiliated state credit union leagues, Credit Union National Association (CUNA) serves America's credit unions, which are owned by more than 100 million consumer members. Credit unions are not-for-profit cooperatives providing affordable financial services to people from all walks of life. For more information about CUNA, visit or follow @CUNA on Twitter. For more information about credit unions, visit and follow @asmarterchoice on Twitter.