From left, 2020 award winners John Fiore, Teresa Freeborn and Maurice R. Smith. (Foundation photo)

Foundation announces 2020 Herb Wegner Memorial Award winners

September 25, 2019

The National Credit Union Foundation (the Foundation) has announced the recipients of the 2020 Herb Wegner Memorial Awards for Outstanding Individual Achievement; John Fiore, Teresa Freeborn and Maurice R. Smith.

The honorees will be celebrated at the annual Foundation Dinner on February 24, 2020 at the Marriot Marquis in conjunction with the CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference (GAC).

Sponsorships and tickets for this black-tie optional dinner are available online here or by mail with the deadline of Feb. 10 to purchase. There are a variety of noteworthy sponsorship and ticket opportunities for this fundraising gala that credit union organizations and individuals can take advantage of.  

More about the distinguished 2020 awardees:

  • John Fiore, director, Andigo CU and director emeritus, Alloya Corporate FCU in Illinois;
  • Teresa Freeborn, president and chief executive of Xceed Financial CU in California; and
  • Maurice R. Smith, CEO of Local Government FCU in North Carolina.