Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Director Kathy Kraninger poses with League Presidents prior to addressing the group at the American Association of Credit Union Leagues Winter Meeting. (AACUL photo)

CFPB Director Kraninger Closes Out AACUL Winter Conference

December 12, 2019

With a focus on collaboration, credit union leagues gathered in Florida for the American Association of Credit Union Leagues (AACUL) winter conference, where they heard from a notable lineup of speakers including Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) Director Kathy Kraninger and NCUA Board Member Todd Harper. The annual conference provides a valuable forum for leagues to share ideas, discuss emerging trends and issues and collaborate to further strengthen the credit union system.

Kraninger, who also serves as chair of the Federal Financial Institutions Examinations Council, closed out the conference with an update on the CFPB’s priorities and the bureau’s continued focus on preventing harm to consumers.

Harper also spoke to the group about his role at the NCUA, noting the value he finds from hearing directly from leagues and credit unions when forming policy.

A panel of state regulators and League presidents discussed several items, including how fostering a relationship between leagues and state regulators benefits credit unions and the role a regulator can play in enabling more consumer access to and knowledge of credit union.

The conference brings together league presidents, league service corporation and association executives, league chairs, government and political affairs professionals, CUNA executive committee members, and system partners. Key discussions focused on advocacy, consumer awareness, innovation and financial inclusion.

“AACUL’s annual winter conference is a unique opportunity for credit union system collaboration, ” said AACUL Executive Director Brad Miller. “I want to thank CFPB Director Kraninger and NCUA Board Member Harper for engaging with our leagues and sharing their insights on the regulatory environment.”

AACUL also hosted their Annual Business Meeting at the winter conference during which Patrick Conway, president of the Pennsylvania Credit Union Association, was presented with an Eagle Award during the conference.

The Eagle Award is AACUL’s highest honor and was established in 1981 to recognize a League President who has an outstanding record of achievement at the league level, a willingness to speak out on critical and controversial issues, demonstrated leadership beyond the league level, innovation in creating or implementing new ideas, and an unremitting dedication to credit union personal principles and an unflagging focus on important issues.

Also at the annual meeting, AACUL members elected the following to serve on the AACUL Board for the coming year: Patrick Conway, President/CEO of the Pennsylvania Credit Union Association; Brad Douglas, President/CEO of the Heartland Credit Union Association; Diana Dykstra, President/CEO of the California and Nevada Credit Union Leagues; Jeff Olson, President/CEO of the Credit Union Association of the Dakotas; Debbie Painter, President/CEO of The Kentucky Credit Union League.  Diana Dykstra will serve as Chair, Jeff Olson will serve as Vice Chair, and Patrick Conway will serve as Secretary/Treasurer of the board. Other ex-officio members of the AACUL Board include Scott Simpson, President/CEO of the Utah Credit Union Association (Immediate Past Chair); Jim Nussle, President/CEO of CUNA; and Brad Miller, Executive Director of AACUL.