Credit union-backed candidates win in Miss. primaries

March 11, 2020

Four credit union-supported candidates were victorious in Tuesday’s primary elections in Mississippi. These victories mark 101 wins for 101 credit union-backed candidates so far in the 2020 election cycle.

The Credit Union Legislative Action Council (CULAC), CUNA’s political action committee, CUNA and the Mississippi Credit Union Association backed the four candidates, all members of the House running for re-election.

Winning candidates include:

  • 1st Congressional District: Rep. Trent Kelly (R) ran unopposed. He has been in the House since he won a 2015 special election;
  • 2nd Congressional District: Rep. Bennie Thompson (D) won the Democratic primary with 94% of the vote against challenger. Sonia Rathburn. Thompson chairs the House Homeland Security Committee.
  • 3rd Congressional District: Rep. Michael Guest (R) won his party primary against former professor and talk radio host James Tulp with 90% of the vote; and
  • 4th Congressional District: Rep. Steven Palazzo (R) defeated three challengers on Tuesday with 67% of the vote. Palazzo serves on the House Appropriations Committee and two of its subcommittees.

CUNA announced earlier this year it will spend a record $7 million in the 2020 election cycle to support congressional candidates on both sides of the aisle. CUNA has also launched a 2020 election tracker to follow the success of CUNA supported candidates throughout the primary and into the general election.