CUNA names 2022 Maxwell, Herring, Desjardins national award winners

November 14, 2022

CUNA National Awards Committee announced the 2022 recipients of the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award, and Desjardins Awards for Financial Education. State Leagues across the nation select winners in various asset sizes, and these League winners are then considered for the national awards. 

“Congratulations to this year’s winners for their amazing work promoting financial well-being for all and advancing the communities they serve. These leaders and organizations truly live the credit union difference every day to benefit their members,” said CUNA President/CEO Jim Nussle. “Each winner demonstrated how they live our ‘people helping people’ motto in new and exciting ways I hope inspires everyone in our movement."  

The Dora Maxwell Award honors credit unions for outstanding social responsibility projects in their communities. First-place winners for the Dora Maxwell Award include: 

  • East River FCU (South Dakota) 
  • Atlantic City FCU (Wyoming) 
  • Clackamas FCU (Oregon) 
  • Genisys CU (Michigan) 
  • Maine Credit Union League 

The Louise Herring Award recognizes credit unions that demonstrate the internal application of credit union philosophy to help better financial matters and increase financial education for its members. First-place winners for the Louise Herring Award include: 

  • Northpark Community CU (Indiana) 
  • First Central CU (Texas) 
  • Mutual Security CU (Connecticut) 
  • Great Lakes CU (Illinois) 

The Desjardins Awards honors credit unions, chapters, and leagues for their commitment to both youth and adult financial literacy. First-place winners for the Desjardins Awards include: 

Desjardins Adult 

  • MC FCU (PA) 
  • Legacy Community FCU (AL) 
  • Meriwest CU (CA) 
  • Maine Credit Union League 

Desjardins Youth

  • Arbuckle FCU (Oklahoma) 
  • SPC CU (South Carolina) 
  • Commonwealth One FCU (Virginia) 
  • Altra FCU (Wisconsin)

The full list of winners with detailed award descriptions can be found here