Iowa league celebrates professional, volunteer excellence

October 3, 2014

DES MOINES, Iowa (10/6/14)--At its annual convention last month, the Iowa Credit Union League honored six for their service and commitment to the state's credit unions and the credit union movement.

Two Heritage Awards were bestowed on Lorraine Groves, manager, The Municipal CU, Sioux City, with $15 million in assets, and Warren Mueller, retired president/CEO, MEMBERS1st Community CU, Marshalltown, with $147 million in assets.

Groves has worked on behalf of The Municipal CU's members for 36 years, serving on the Northwest Chapter of Credit Unions and the Iowa Credit Union League board. Mueller began his credit union career in 1981. In addition to his time as president/CEO at MEMBERS1st Community, he was one of the founding board members for the Iowa Credit Union Foundation.

Cooperative Spirit Awards--which honor service, commitment and leadership in the credit union movement by professionals and volunteers--went to Pat Drennen, CEO, 1st Gateway CU, Camanche; Larry Ridenour, board member, Ascentra CU, Bettendorf, with $342 million in assets; and Richard Burgmeier, board member, Dupaco Community CU, Dubuque, with $1.1 billion in assets.

In addition to being CEO of the $95 million-asset credit union, Drennen has been a league board member for 23 years, including three terms as board chair.

As volunteers, Ridenour and Burgmeir were noted for their work in transitioning new CEOs at their respective credit unions. Ridenour helped form the Ascentra Credit Union Foundation, while Burgmeier played an instrumental role in the formation of Dupaco Financial Services and Dupaco Insurance Services.

Nikki Nelson, branch manager, IntegrUS CU, Dubuque, was named Young Professional of the Year for demonstrating the credit union philosophy of "people helping people" every day through hard work, dedication and volunteerism. Nelson helped create Caisse Cafe for the $19 million-asset credit union.